JEE Main 2018 Eligibility Criteria

JEE Main 2018 Eligibility Criteria

jee main 2018 eligibility criteria

Last updated on April 17th, 2018 at 08:48 pm

JEE Main 2018 registrations are close now.

The article details about JEE Main 2018 Eligibility criteria. JEE Main or the Joint Entrance Examination is an annually held national-level entrance examination for engineering/architecture admissions. The JEE format was brought in 2013, replacing the age-old AIEEE & IIT-JEE and making engineering entrance a 2-stage process.

Read the detailed description of JEE Main 2018 

Date of Notification

JEE Main 2018 official notification was released on the 23rd November 2017.

The JEE Main 2018 (Offline) test will be held on 08 April 2018, while the online test shall be conducted on 15th & 16th April 2018.  

JEE Main 2018 Eligibility Criteria

Requirement of Aadhar Card

Indian nationals applying for JEE Main 2018 must posses a Aadhar Card in order to apply for the exam.

Date of Birth (DOB)

General category applicants must have been born on or after 1st October 1993 in order to apply for JEE Main 2018.

However, for reserved category candidates i.e. SC/ST/PwD, an age relaxation of 5 years is offered. Therefore, candidates born on or after 1st October 1988 satisfy JEE Main 2018 eligibility criteria.

Number of Attempts

The total number of allowed attempts for JEE Main are restricted to 03. This number holds good irrespective of the category to which a student belongs to.

Qualifying Examination

Only those applicants who have passed 12th standard examination or equivalent in 2016 and 2017 are eligible for JEE Main 2018.

Further, candidates who had appeared for the 12th exam in 2015, but failed to pass the exam, but passed in 2016 are also not eligible for JEE Main 2018.

Candidates should have studied minimum 05 subjects in 12th standard examination or equivalent.

Admission to NIT/IIIT/Other CFTIs

Admission to NITs (National Institutes of Technology)/IIITs (Indian Institutes of Information Technology)/Other CFTIs will be based on JEE Main 2018 score.

Candidates must fall in the top 20 percentile of there respective boards within their respective category.


Candidates must have secured minimum 75% in 12th standard exam or equivalent. The bar is 65% for reserved category students i.e. SC/ST/Pwd.

For B.E/B.Tech

In order to satisfy JEE Main 2018 eligibility criteria for NITs/IIITs/CFTIs B.Tech admissions, candidates must have studied the following subjects in 12th standard.

  1. Physics.
  2. Chemistry/Biotechnology/Biology/Technical Vocational.
  3. Mathematics.

For B.Arch/B.Planning

To study B.Arch/B.Planning at CFTIs, candidates must have studied Mathematics as the compulsory subject at 10+2 level.

List of Valid Qualifying Examinations  

Either of the following qualifying examinations is considered valid by JEE.

  • The final examination of the 10+2 system, conducted by any recognized central/ state Board.
  • Intermediate or two-year Pre-University examination conducted by a recognized Board/ University.
  • Final examination of the two-year course of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence
  • Senior Secondary School Examination conducted by the National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS) with a
    minimum of five subjects.
  • Any Public School/ Board/ University examination in India or in any foreign country recognized as
    equivalent to the 10+2 system by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).

Please share, like and follow us on facebook & Twitter for more updates. Also, let us know your queries and suggestions about this post by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

Notify of